Happy Birthday, (for real), J. Lou Ley


Janet Ley, age 5, 1958

Janet Ley, age 5, 1958

Janet (Ley) Foutz, Birthday Gal

My mom and I have a (fun?) routine where I will pretend not to know the real date of her birthday, and will call her up enthusiastically to wish her well, and insist that I am right, and that she, in her increasing dotage, must be mistaken.

Well, maybe that’s my routine. Meant in all loving son-ness.

Mom is also an avid follower of this blog and attempted matchmaker of genealogical connections to people sometimes related, often not, but always interesting.

So I know she’ll see this and verify what she already has called me on: I do know the date of her birthday. And have used it as an excuse to share some of my favorite J. Lou pics. Such as the one above, which, I swear, reminds my wife Katie and I a lot (a lot, a lot) of our youngest son Caleb, born two years ago this May 30 (and sharing not only a birthday month with Mom, but a birthday with great-grandpa Robert Ohio Weible as well). He shares grandma Janet’s blue eyes, too.

Below, find a pic of Mom which my files tell me is from 1954, and would put her about Caleb’s age. (But I invite arguments….) And, for the heck of it, check out this “wild art” from the November 9, 1963 edition of the Dover Daily Reporter showing one Janet Ley, age 11, second from right, cheering on at a football game.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOM!

 

Janet Ley, circa 1954, about 2.

Janet Ley, circa 1954, about 2.

 

Dover Daily Reporter, November 1963

Dover Daily Reporter, November 1963

Categories: Ley, Milestones | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Happy Birthday, (for real), J. Lou Ley

  1. Andrea Penepacker

    Happy Birthday, Janet!

Join the Discussion

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

